Access Keys:


Rathfriland High Sports Awards Dinner

1st Jul 2024
Rathfriland High Sports Awards Dinner

We celebrated our pupils sporting success last night at our annual Sports Awards Dinner. We were once again very well looked after by the staff of the Milestone/Loft 56 and we thank them greatly for all they did for us. We had a lot to celebrate, with our teams achieving so much this year. Our Girls Football team won the Newry, Mourne and Down Cup, our Y11 Netball team won the Banbridge District League with our Y12’s finishing runners up. Our U13 Boys Football team won the Northern Ireland Small School’s Cup and were semi-finalists in the South Down League and our U15 Boys Football team won the South Down Plate. Our U14 Rugby team won the Ulster South East League and won the Ulster Plate.

All in all a fantastic year for our pupils and it is justly deserved given the hard work and effort they have all shown. Below are our individual prize winners and although it is important to recognise individual success it is important to note that all of the pupils of our teams have contributed to this.

Well done to everyone and Mrs. Martin and I hope you all have a great summer. Come back in September ready to get stuck in again!


Girls Football

Most Improved –  Lexi Frazer

Players Player –  Anna Ervine

Boys Football



Most Improved – Callum Maginn

Players Player – Jackson Wharton


Most Improved – Billy Bennett

Players Player – Ethan Stewart





Most Improved – Elona Megaw

Players Player – Hollie Abernathy


Most Improved – Jayne Gamble

Players Player – Ellie Scott


Most Improved – Katie McClimond

Players Player – Anna Ervine


Most Improved – Cassie McAleavey

Players Player – Eden Kernaghan


Most Improved – Edee Rowan

Players Player – Amy Spiers





Most Improved – Noah Dawson

Players Player – Joel Ringland


Most Improved – James Davidson

Players Player – Ryan Johnston


Most Improved – Elliot Hutchinson

Players Player – Thomas Skelly


Sports Day Awards



Girl – Grace Magill 18 points

Boy – Adam McDowell 30 points


Girl – Olivia Stewart 25 points

Boy – Ben Megaw 35 points


Girl – Bella Macauley 25 points

Boy – Ryan Johnston 30 points


Girl – Eden Kernaghan 21 points

Boy – Ethan Hillis 21 points